Planning for my second year of homeschool

This year has been a learning experience for me.  I almost thought I was going to give up and send my daughter back to public school because homeschool seemed so time consuming and I was overwhelmed.  I went from creating my own curriculum to K-12 and RAN back to doing my own curriculum-quickly! I read all of the mommy homeschool blogs and finally came to the conclusion (after lots  of prayer) that I have to do what works for me and my family and it’s okay if we mess up sometimes.  I was in such a panic to line my homeschool with what I saw in the homeschool blogs and sometimes I was very discouraged thinking ” I wish I could do that “. As someone who is learning to be more organized, it’s been a challenge since I am a go with the flow kinda person. I learned my children needed more structure and frankly so did I.  Some changes we will be implementing is the schedule.

I decided to do the year-round school for a couple of reasons: 1) If my daughter doesn’t use it, she starts to lose it. We’ve spent so much time refreshing skills already learned in public school because we haven’t done them in a while. 2) If I get off of my routine, it’s hard getting back in and we suffer for about one week while mom tries to pull it together.

I found a 2014-2015 calender online and started to plan my school year. I’ve decided that we will have a 4 day school week (Mon-Thurs) and on Friday’s we can go out in service or work on any incomplete assignments from the week.

The crazy thing I am going to attempt is planning an entire school year in one weekend so I don’t waste time planning curriculum during the year and it frees up so much time.  Here is the link for the blog I got the idea from:

http://www.simplyconvivial.com/2012/homeschool-planning-a-year-at-a-time-introduction

When I first saw this, I thought it was crazy. There was no way I thought I could do an entire year in one weekend. I know I wanted to do year round but and just figured I would have to set aside time to plan my curriculum each week.  After printing a calender this is what I came up with:

2014-2015 Homeschool Calender:

Days of school each month on Mon-Thur schedule.

July –  16 Days

August- 16 Days

September- 18 Days   (End of 1st quarter)

October- 18 Days

November- 16 Days

December- 19 Days  (End of 2nd quarter)

January- 17 days

February – 16 Days

March -16 Days (End of 3rd quarter)

April – 18 Days

May – 10 Days (180 Days of school)

Since we don’t celebrate National Holidays, I get a weekly break which is much needed every week.
I like this schedule and wish I would have thought of it sooner! This gives the family a 3 day weekend every weekend. I have the flexibility to have a scheduled “make-up” day every week if something needs to be completed or if anyone was sick and this doesn’t cut into our normal family time. I’m hopeful this schedule will work. After looking at the number of days in each month, it doesn’t seem so unrealistic to sit down for a weekend to plan out the entire year. A weekend sacrificed is worth not having to plan out curriculum every week .

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing your story with us! I went through that experience of teaching with no experience when I was in AmeriCorps. It was terrifying, and of course I didn’t have the added concern of my own child getting the best possible education given the circumstances. The costs and benefits of homeschooling are so different than traditional schooling, but being a new instructor is so difficult regardless. Sounds like you’re doing all the right things in order to improve and be more organized. Best of luck for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

